Skip to content
alaska maintenance districts thumbnail

Southcoast Region

Alaska Maintenance Districts Map

Marcus Zimmerman
Regional Maintenance Chief
P.O. Box 112506
Juneau, AK 99811-2506
Physical: 6860 Glacier Hwy, Juneau
(907) 465-4655
(907) 465-2021 fax


Steve Bell
Southeast District Superintendent
(907) 465-4512

Robert Greene
Kodiak/Aleutian Superintendent
(907) 487-4918

Spencer Gates
Maintenance & Operations Specialist
(907) 465-1014

Ken Murphy
Safety Officer
(907) 465-8991

Tabitha Williams
Administrative Operations Manager
SR Highways & Aviation
(907) 465-2619


Southcoast Region Maintenance and Operations activities are headquartered in Juneau, with a Maintenance and Operations Manager and a small staff of regional managers and administrative personnel. Regional managers include two maintenance superintendents, a maintenance engineer, and an aviation safety and security officer. The regional State Equipment Fleet office is located in Juneau as well.

The Southcoast Region’s M&O response territory is divided into two separate districts that include the coastal regions of Southeast Alaska, Kodiak Island, a portion of the Alaska Peninsula and the Aleutian Chain.

The Southeast District includes maintenance stations and DOT owned airports in Gustavus, Haines, Hoonah, Juneau, Kake, Ketchikan, Klawock, Petersburg, Sitka, Skagway, Wrangell, and Yakutat.

The Kodiak/Aleutian District includes maintenance stations and DOT owned airports in Adak, Akun, Cold Bay, , Iliamna, Kodiak, King Salmon, and Unalaska. The station foremen are responsible for maintaining and operating the region’s highways, bridges, airports, seaplane floats, and harbors. The Region also contracts the local communities and private contractors to maintain state assets at locations where there is no ADOT&PF presence.

The region maintains 1528 lane miles of state highway, 186 bridges, 43 harbors, and 69 state airports including seaplane floats.

The Southcoast Region Maintenance and Operations section employs 141 personnel, including managers, equipment operators, and administrative staff.