Skip to content
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: November 18, 2014
No.: 14-2564
Contact: Linda Bustamante, 907-266-2596,

Airport Employees Receive Certification from American Association of Airport Executives

(ANCHORAGE, Alaska) –The Alaska Department of Transportation and Public Facilities is pleased to announce that 13 Alaskan airport managers, employees and consultants recently earned the Certified Member designation from the American Association of Airport Executives (AAAE).

To earn the Certified Member designation candidates must demonstrate an in-depth knowledge in a wide range of airport related topics including management, Federal Aviation Administration and Transportation Security Administration regulatory requirements, property management, and environmental regulations.

The following were recently awarded the AAAE Certified Member designation: Susan Ault, Fairbanks International Airport; John Binder, ADOT&PF Deputy Commissioner; Dennis Bishop, Tok District Superintendent; Katie Gage, Anchorage International; Lt. Dan Grimes, Fairbanks International; Jim Greil, Aviation Manager DOWL-HKM; John Hastie, Bethel Airport; Alex Jumao-as, Merrill Field Airport;  Becky Legg-Merrell, Northern Region Leasing; Tony Luiken, Anchorage International; Mary Martin, Fairbanks International; Rebecca Rauf, Statewide Aviation; and Lacy Russell, Fairbanks International.

AAAE is the world’s largest professional organization for airport executives and provides training for thousands of airport employees each year.

The Alaska Department of Transportation and Public Facilities oversees 237 airports, 10 ferries serving 33 communities along 3,500 marine miles, over 5,600 miles of highway and 839 public facilities throughout the state of Alaska. The mission of the department is to “Keep Alaska Moving through service and infrastructure.”

# # #


  Main Newsroom Page