Skip to content

Alaska Marine Highway Reshaping Work Group


Email Updates

To sign up for updates or to access your subscriber preferences, please enter your contact information below.

The Work Group will consider the analysis and data in the Alaska Marine Highway System Economic Reshaping Report (January 15, 2020), current and past service levels, travel demand, cost of service, regional economic importance, labor contracts, current and potential service providers, and other available information. The Work Group will define the future needs and purpose of the AMHS, with the goal to ensure residents have access to essential transportation services among Alaskan coastal communities.

Recommendations from the Work Group may include ports of call; levels of service; tariffs; contracting options; fleet size, type, maintenance, and replacement; governance and labor contract requirements.

The Work Group will submit recommendations to the Governor by September 30, 2020 with implementation beginning in FY2023 (July 1, 2022).


The Work Group will consist of nine members who are appointed by, and serve at the pleasure of, the Governor. The Work Group is comprised of the following:

  • Public: Tom Barrett (Chair)
  • Public: John Torgerson
  • Public: Wanetta Ayers
  • Aviation: Lee Ryan
  • MTAB: Robert Venables
  • Roads & Highways: Tony Johansen
  • Labor: Ben Goldrich
  • Senator Bert Stedman
  • Representative Louise Stutes
Contact for the work group:

Tera Ollila – Administrative Assistant
P.O. Box 112500 (mailing)
3132 Channel Drive, Suite 300
Juneau, AK 99811-2500
Phone: (907) 465-3905

Your constructive comments and ideas about the Alaska Marine Highway System are welcome and appreciated!
Email us at:

During scheduled meeting times, meetings can be accessed live: