Skip to content

Air Carrier Insurance Certificate of Compliance

Alaska Statute 02.40.020 Certification of Compliance of Air Carriers requires air carriers that provide intra-state service in Alaska to have a Certificate of Compliance. The intent of the statute is to require commercial air carriers to show the flying public that the carrier has current insurance coverage as required by Alaska Statute 02.40.010 Air Carrier Financial Responsibility and regulation. The Division of Statewide Aviation within the Alaska Department of Transportation and Public Facilities administers the Certificate of Compliance program.

Part 121 and Part 135 air carriers that fly intra-state are required to have a Certificate of Compliance. For a good description of the differences between FAA Part 91 (private) and Part 135 (commercial) operations, read more here>>.

An air carrier must renew their Certificate of Compliance every twelve months. To obtain the Certificate, the carrier must submit

  1. an Application for Certificate of Compliance form
  2. a Verification of Air Carrier's Insurance form , and
  3. the appropriate fee, $50 for a single aircraft, $100 for two aircraft, or $150 for three or more aircraft. The Division of Statewide Aviation accepts cash, check, or credit cards (Visa or Mastercard) for payment of the filing fee.

New applicants must also provide a signed copy of their FAA Operating Certificate.

 

For more information contact Megan Byrd at (907) 269-0730 in the Division of Statewide Aviation, Alaska DOT&PF.

Mailing address:

Division of Statewide Aviation
Dept of Transportation & Public Facilities
PO Box 196900
Anchorage, Alaska 99519-6900