Immediate notice of accident. The driver of a vehicle involved in an accident resulting in bodily injury to or death of a person or total property damage to an apparent extent of $2,000 or more shall, within 10 days after the accident, forward a written or electronic report of the accident to the Department of Administration and to the local police department if the accident occurs within a municipality. A report is not required under this subsection if the accident is investigated by a peace officer.
In order to completely fill out these forms you will need to provide the following:
You can fill out these forms online using the links above. They should be completed by the driver involved in the collision.
Fill in all applicable spaces in the form with information you know about the crash as best you as you can. Pay particular attention to the crash narrative by writing short clear sentences that accurately describe what happened in your own words. Provide all information on your vehicle, the other vehicle(s) (if there were any), any vehicle occupants, etc.
When you are done entering all available information into the form, check the certification box at the bottom of the form and press the "Submit" button to complete your report.
The form will respond that your information has been received.
In motor vehicle crashes where the damage is less than a certain dollar amount, no apparent significant injuries occurred, and police or local law enforcement jurisdiction did not investigate, Alaska developed the driver report (Form 12-209) to provide the user a way to self-report a crash and provide documentation to his or her insurance company.
As well, Alaska Statute Title 28, Chapter 22, Article 1, Section 28.22.021 requires the owner or operator of a motor vehicle to provide proof of motor vehicle liability insurance when that person is involved in an accident that results in bodily injury to or death of a person, or damage to the property of a person exceeding $501.
You must complete and submit these reports electronically to the Division of Motor Vehicles using the links above.
The 12-209 crash report information is used by the Alaska Department of Transportation (DOT) to identify sections of the road system that experience higher numbers of motor vehicle crashes. These higher crash areas are then proposed for capital improvement projects that improve road safety. The 12-209 crash form also includes the same information that the COI requests. When a motor vehicle crash results in no personal injury or results in property damage between $501 and $2,000, completing the 12-209 provides valuable crash and location information that helps DOT and still meets the requirement for proof of liability insurance to DMV shown above. Please consider completing the 12-209 in lieu of the stand-alone COI.
Submit your signed form 440 by e-mail at firstname.lastname@example.org OR mail your printed paper original to:State Of Alaska
For inquiries regarding these forms, submission deadlines, drivers licenses or insurance, or you are having technical problems submitting reports using the links above, please contact DMV by e-mail at email@example.com or by phone at (907) 269-5551.