

## **Department of Transportation & Public Facilities**

**Project Delivery** Phone: 907-209-5097 Fax: 907-465-3124

**TO:** Distribution

FROM: Lauren Little, P.E. Chief Engineer

**DATE:** April 1, 2025

SUBJECT: Chief Engineer's Directive: New ASP M-25.00 Asphalt SafetyEdge<sup>SM</sup>

> Highway Standard Mod: HSM20-46A – 520 Temporary Crossings

The Alaska Standard Plans Manual (ASPM) is revised to include the new ASP M-25.00 Asphalt SafetyEdge<sup>SM</sup>. Incorporate the Standard Modification HSM20-55 for use in conjunction with new Alaska Standard Plan M-25.00.

All highway projects advertising after October 1, 2025, must include Asphalt SafetyEdge<sup>SM</sup> when the project includes bound layers (HMA, ATB) within the road structural section except for the following situations:

- 1. Low speed roadways with design speeds of 20 MPH or less.
- 2. Temporary paving with regulated speed limits of less than 45 MPH.

Attached is the new ASP index, ASP M-25.00, it's associated Standard Plan Design Report (SPDR), and the Standard Modification HSM20-55.

Incorporate the attached Standard Modification HSM 20-46A into highway contracts with an advertising date after July 1, 2025. This specification revises the previous standard modification design requirement to allow for a broader range of barrier systems, ensuring greater flexibility in design while maintaining consistency with our established Standard Plan. This update aligns with the latest guidelines and best practices.

Downloads for the ASPM are available at: https://dot.alaska.gov/stwddes/dcsprecon/standardplans.shtml

Alaska Standard Specifications for Highway Construction, Standard Modifications, and Statewide Special Provisions are available online at: <u>https://dot.alaska.gov/stwddes/dcsspecs/index.shtml</u>

"Keep Alaska Moving through service and infrastructure."

## Attachments:

Alaska Standard Plans Manual Index ASP M-25.00 Asphalt SafetyEdge<sup>SM</sup> ASP M-25.00 SPDR HSM20-55 Highway Standard Modification HSM20-46A Highway Standard Modification

Distribution:

Ryan Anderson, P.E., Commissioner, Statewide Judy Anunciacion, P.E., Construction Standards Engineer, Statewide Albert Beck, P.E., Preconstruction Engineer, Northern Region Luke Bowland, P.E., Preconstruction Engineer, Central Region Mike Chambers, Statewide Publications Specialist, Statewide Leslie Daugherty, P.E., Chief Bridge Engineer, Statewide Sandra Garcia-Aline, Division Administrator, FHWA Alaska Division Daniel Gibson, P.E., Director, Public Facilities Chris Goins, P.E., Director, Southcoast Region Pamela Golden, P.E., State Traffic & Safety Engineer, DMIO Emily Haynes, Acting Deputy Division Administrator, FHWA Alaska Division Sean Holland, P.E., Director, Central Region Jennifer Huntley, Chief of Contracts, Southcoast Region Brandon Irvine, P.E., Preconstruction Standards Engineer, Statewide Katherine Keith, Deputy Commissioner, Statewide Kirk Miller, P.E., Preconstruction Engineer, Southcoast Region David Lowell, P.E., Construction Engineer, Southcoast Region Mike Lund, P.E., Construction Engineer, Northern Region Jason Sakalaskas, P.E., M&O Chief, Northern Region Mike San Angelo, P.E., Materials Engineer, Statewide Joel St. Aubin, P.E., Construction Engineer, Central Region Sharon Smith, P.E., Chief of Contracts, Central Region Barbara Tanner, P.E., Chief of Contracts, Northern Region Craig Tornga, Director, AMHS Kirk Warren, P.E., M&O Chief, Central Region James Woods, Chief of Contracts, Statewide Marcus Zimmerman, M&O Chief, Southcoast Region Listserv: dot-swdes-notice@list.state.ak.us