Skip to content

Commuter Rail Advisory Task Force

UPDATE 2/21/2019: Administrative Order No. 309 rescinds Administative Order 292 which established the Commuter Rail Advisory Task Force. Therefore, this task force is no longer active.


Description and Function

The purpose of the Task Force is to provide recommendations to the Governor regarding the feasibility and implementation of a commuter rail pilot between the Matanuska-Susitna Valley and Anchorage. The Task Force will provide written findings and recommendations to the Governor through two reports, due May 31, 2018 and September 30, 2019. The analysis will draw from prior work, and will include recommendations regarding initial and ongoing capital costs, expected annual operating costs, possible Federal funding sources, estimated ridership, governance structure, corollary benefits, and other challenges or opportunities associated with the potential operation.



Megan Byrd – Administrative Assistant
PO Box 196900
Anchorage, AK 99519-6900
(907) 269-0730


Task Force Membership

The Task Force consists of nine members, appointed by, and who serve at, the pleasure of the Governor. The Commissioner of the Department of Transportation and Public Facilities and the Commissioner of the Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development or their designees shall serve as non-voting members to provide background and technical support. The Governor may appoint additional non-voting members at the Task-Force’s request for additional technical support. Current members of the Task Force Include:

  • Allan Lucht (JBER)

  • Craig Lyon (Anchorage)

  • Cynthia Wentworth (Indian)

  • Edna DeVries (Palmer)

  • LaMarr Lee Anderson (Palmer)

  • Virgie Beth Thompson (Wasilla)

  • Bert Cottle (Wasilla)

  • Ethan Berkowitz (Anchorage)

  • Vern Halter (MatSu)


Agenda and Minutes

October 4, 2018

May 22, 2018

May 15, 2018

May 4, 2018

April 20, 2018

April 17, 2018

March 30, 2018

March 9, 2018