
 

 

 

Appendix E 

 
 

Alaska DOT&PF SWPPP Guide 

 
 



Alaska SWPPP Guide E-1 Appendix E. Oil/Hazardous Materials Reporting Req. 
  March 2021 

Appendix E. Oil and Hazardous Materials Reporting Requirements 
 
  
Reporting and Documentation Procedure 
 
In the event of a release of petroleum that reaches any surface waters, or a release on land of petroleum 
or certain hazardous substances (listed on the following pages) exceeding the Reportable Quantity (RQ) 
level, the Contractor must take the following steps: 
 

1. Notify the Project Engineer. 
2. Notify the Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC) at one of the following telephone 

numbers, depending on project location: 

• Central (Anchorage) 907-269-3063 

• Northern (Fairbanks) 907-451-2121 

• Southeast (Juneau) 907-465-5340 

• Outside normal business hours, call: 1-800-478-9300 
During telephone notification to DEC, they will assist you in completing an Oil and Hazardous  
Substances Spill Notification Form. Submit the completed form to DEC after telephone 
notification (a copy of the form appears on page E-4 below). 

3. Notify the National Response Center in Washington, D.C., immediately at 800-424-8802 or 202-
267-2675 if you do not have 800 access.  There is also an online reporting tool available at 
https://www.epa.gov/emergency-response/national-response-center  

4. Initiate a corrective action within 24 hours with a complete-by-date as soon as possible, and 
document the required information in the Corrective Action Log. 

5. If identified outside of an inspection, add the corrective action to the next inspection report. 
6. Update the SWPPP describing the release, all actions taken and any revisions made to the 

SWPPP.  Attach the DEC Spill Notification form into Appendix O of the SWPPP and document 
the addition in the SWPPP Amendment Log.  Attach any photos, emails, and supplementary 
documentation to the following inspection report and into Appendix O of the SWPPP. 

7. Within 14 days, submit a written description of the release to the Environmental Protection 
Agency (EPA) regional office providing the date and circumstances of the release and the steps 
to be taken to prevent another release. 
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency 
1200 Sixth Avenue 
Seattle, WA 98101 

 
Note: "oil" means oil of any kind and in any form, whether crude, refined, or a petroleum by-product, 
including but not limited to petroleum, fuel oil, gasoline, lubricating oils, oily sludge, oil refuse, oil 
mixed with other wastes, crude oils, liquefied natural gas, propane, butane, or other liquid hydrocarbons 
regardless of specific gravity. 
 

https://www.epa.gov/emergency-response/national-response-center


Appendix E. Oil/Hazardous Materials Reporting Req. E-2 Alaska SWPPP Guide 
March 2021  

All Clean Water Act (CWA) hazardous substances are CERCLA hazardous substance.  Table 117.3 
located in 40 CFR 117.3, which is entitled “Reportable Quantities of Hazardous Substances” lists 
substances that are designated as hazardous under section 311(b)(4) of the CWA. The table can be found 
at: 
https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/CFR-2003-title40-vol19/pdf/CFR-2003-title40-vol19-sec117-
3.pdf  
 
 
 
FORMs 
Alaska state law requires all oil and hazardous substance releases to be reported to DEC. The following 
forms are used to document information required by State Regulation 18 AAC 75.300(e).  
 
 

https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/CFR-2003-title40-vol19/pdf/CFR-2003-title40-vol19-sec117-3.pdf
https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/CFR-2003-title40-vol19/pdf/CFR-2003-title40-vol19-sec117-3.pdf


Oil and Petroleum Product Reporting

Underground Storage Tank (UST)* Reporting

Hazardous Substance Reporting

Report Oil and Hazardous 
Substance Spills

TOLL-FREE 1-800-478-9300
INTERNATIONAL 1-907-269-0667

ONLINE ReportSpills.alaska.gov

It’s Required by Alaska Law!
(AS 46.03.755, AS 46.03.450, 18 AAC 75.300, 18 AAC 75.325)

Spills to Water

Spills to Land
• Spills in excess of 55 gallons must be reported immediately.
• Spills in excess of 10 gallons but less than 55 gallons must be reported

within 48 hours.
• Facilities shall maintain a spill log and report a record of oil discharges

from 1 to 10 gallons monthly.
Spills to Impermeable Secondary Containment

• Spills in excess of 55 gallons must be reported within 48 hours.

Any hazardous substance spill, other than oil, must be reported immediately.

You must report a suspected below 
ground release from a UST system, in any 
amount, within 24 hours. (18 AAC 78.212)

If a release is suspected the owner or 
operator of a UST shall investigate the 
UST site and shall report to the UST Unit 
within the period specified. (18 AAC 78.200)

Contact us: (907) 465-5250 
* Regulated UST as defined in AS 46.03.450(8)

• Any amount spilled to water must be reported immediately.

Revised 10/10/2022
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Found on the DEC webpage: https://dec.alaska.gov/spar/ppr/spill-information/reporting/  
 

https://dec.alaska.gov/spar/ppr/spill-information/reporting/
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    Found on the DEC webpage: http://dec.alaska.gov/spar/spillreport.htm 
 
 

http://dec.alaska.gov/spar/spillreport.htm
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Found on the DEC webpage: https://dec.alaska.gov/spar/ppr/spill-information/reporting/   
 

https://dec.alaska.gov/spar/ppr/spill-information/reporting/
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Found on the DEC webpage: https://dec.alaska.gov/spar/ppr/spill-information/reporting/   

https://dec.alaska.gov/spar/ppr/spill-information/reporting/
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