Ignition Interlock Devices in Alaska



An ignition interlock device is ...

- a breath alcohol measuring device that prevents a vehicle from starting if it measures a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) at .02 to .04 (typically).
- The device is located inside the vehicle, near the driver's seat and mounted on the dashboard, and is connected to the engine's ignition system. It is about the size of a cell phone.



In addition, these devices ...

- Can be installed in construction equipment, commercial vehicles, motorcycles, scooters, and snowmobiles.
- Are designed to make sure a human being is providing the breath sample.



The Department of Corrections Connection

- Alaska statute AS 33.05.020 assigns three duties to the Commissioner:
- 1. Make sure qualified Probation Officers are assigned to Superior Courts, and, 2, make sure these POs are paid and have clerical support.
- The third duty brings interlock devices into the picture ...

(c) The commissioner shall by regulation

(1) establish standards for calibration, certification, maintenance, and monitoring of ignition interlock devices required as a condition of probation ...

(2) establish a fee to be paid by the manufacturer for the cost of certifying an ignition interlock device.

But it's never that simple ...

- Part (d) requires (through regulation) that the devices which are certified will operate anywhere in Alaska, in all environments.
- Part (e) requires the devices to have a sticker stating any tampering with or circumventing the device is in violation of AS 11.76.140 and may be imprisoned up to 30 days and be fined up to \$500.

Part (d) brings a small dilemma

- Manufacturers do not certify these devices for extreme cold weather; if it's colder than 5 degrees to -40 degrees (depending on which brand of device you're using) you have to prewarm the unit before it will work.
- The devices are designed so the measuring unit can be easily detached and taken inside to warm up.
- It's the user's responsibility to properly prewarm the device.

The certification process ...

- At present, four vendor companies are certified to provide ignition interlock devices in Alaska.
- These are: Autosense of Alaska LLC, Draeger Safety Diagnostics, Inc.; LifeSafer of Alaska; and Smart Start of Alaska.
- All are certified for all of Alaska
- To gain certification, vendors must pay a \$1000 initial application fee, or a \$500 recertification fee.

The applicant must ...

 Provide proof from a testing laboratory that vendor's devices meet or exceed standards set by Alaska statute and regulation.

 Provide a list of authorized installers (who are qualified to install, calibrate, maintain and remove the devices) and their addresses.

Certification standards ...

- Alaska's certification standards are those that are set by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration's model specifications as found in the Federal Register, Vol. 57, No. 67, April 7 1992, docket No. 91-07, notice 2.
- Draft regulations were posted in 2006, but these have never been adopted.



Regulation requires reporting.

- The vendor (installer) is required to inspect the device every 90 days.
- The device makes a record of every time it is used. If there's an attempt to circumvent or tamper with the device, it will be recorded.
- The 90-day inspections provide for this record to be downloaded and retained.
- The vendor is required to keep copies of these records as well as a report on the inspection.
- The vendor must supply these records to the court, motor vehicles and/or the Department of Corrections, if asked.

These regulations are being updated to require ...

 The vendor (manufacturer's authorized installer) to report evidence of circumvention or tampering to 1. the court of conviction, 2. Division of Motor Vehicles, and 3. the Department of Corrections ...

within 72 hours.

The vendor will also be required to retain records of their inspections for three years.

www.correct.state.ak.us/

corrections/admin/ departments/documents/ ignitioninterlock.html